New REC council members elected to represent the industry

Filed under Press release

Thursday, 15 June 2017


Seven new members were elected to the Recruitment & Employment Confederation (REC) council today at the organisation’s Annual General Meeting. 

The four non-executive directors elected today to represent corporate members are: 


  • Michelle Mellor, managing director/owner, Cummins Mellor Recruitment
  • Allena Clarke, associate director, BMC Recruitment Group
  • Paul Sharpe, managing director, InterQuest Group
  • Sarah Hopkins, director, HopkinsLongworth Executive Search Ltd

The three non-executive directors elected today to represent IRP members are: 

  • Heather Salway, group HR director, nGAGE Specialist Recruitment
  • Paul Jacobs, chairman, LoveWorkLife Recruitment 
  • Mark Channon, managing director, Bloc Digital Talent

REC chief executive Kevin Green said: 

“Recruiters transform lives on a daily basis and as the professional body for the industry our role is to demonstrate at every opportunity the value our members deliver to individuals, businesses and the wider economy. Our council plays a vital role in helping to shape our strategic direction to achieve that goal, and it’s extremely positive to be adding such talent, experience and passion to our team. 

“They join at an exciting time for the sector. It’s becoming harder than ever for businesses to find and hire the people they need, and the recruitment industry will increasingly be called upon to provide the solutions to the challenges facing UK plc. Our new council will play a pivotal role in helping us provide more value for members, and to build the best recruitment industry in the world.”


Notes to editors:

  1. The REC council consists of up to 17 directors who are representatives of corporate members and up to seven directors who are representatives of individual members of the IRP, appointed either by the membership at the Annual General Meeting of the REC or by the council itself during the course of the year as vacancies arise. One quarter of the directors will stand down each year at the AGM, and any member can be nominated for election, in accordance with the articles. 

    Back to top
    Award winning services AEA award logoAssociation Excellence Awards 2017MemCom 2017 Awards